Toronto · CanadaCanada’s honest points-and-hotels diary
Prepaid · Cashback · Neo Chequing

Neo Money™ Card

A free prepaid Mastercard on Neo's Chequing account that pays 1% cashback on gas and groceries, up to a monthly spend limit Neo shows only in its app. It is a card for spending at home: the FX fee is 3% unless you pay for the Grow membership, and from January 1, 2027 each cash withdrawal costs $1.50 without a paid membership.

Neo Money™ Card
Drag to rotate
Welcome bonus
Annual fee$0
Earn rate
1%Groceries
1%Gas
VariesNeo partner offers
Top perks
  • 1% on gas and groceries
  • Neo partner cashback
  • ATM fee refunds (Build, Grow)
Updated October 15, 20266 min read

The Neo Money card is the card I'd point a Neo customer to for groceries and gas, and not much else. In Neo's own words it is a prepaid card that does what a debit card does: it spends the money in your Neo Chequing account, pays 1% cashback on gas and groceries up to a monthly limit, and adds instant cashback at Neo's partner merchants.

Where it falls down is travel and cash. Neo's fee schedule lists a 3% foreign exchange fee, and from January 1, 2027 every ATM withdrawal costs $1.50 unless you pay for a membership. The money in the account earns only 0.1%, so I see it as a free everyday card for people already banking with Neo, not a reason to move your savings.

The bonus

Welcome offer

There is no welcome bonus on the Neo Money card. Neo's Chequing page, its membership page and its October 2026 changes page describe the cashback and the fees, but no sign-up offer, as of October 15, 2026.

The card is free to order with a Neo Chequing account, and you get a virtual card right away while the physical one is mailed, so there is no fee to earn back either.

Insider tip

Students get more out of it: Neo's Campus Cashback page pairs the Neo Money card with a student Chequing account and adds 10% cashback at eligible campus merchants on top of the 1% on gas and groceries.

What it costs

Fees & eligibility

The Neo Money card has $0 in annual or monthly fees on Neo's free Essentials membership, and the Neo Chequing account behind it lists no monthly account fee and free EFT transfers. Card replacement is free; a rush replacement costs $29.00.

The weak spot is foreign spending. Neo's Chequing and Prepaid Mastercard fee schedule (September 1, 2026) lists a 3% foreign exchange conversion fee, added on top of the Mastercard rate and charged on refunds too. Neo's membership page footnote quotes 2.5% for Neo Money cards, so check the rate in the app before a trip. The Grow membership ($14.99 a month) rebates the fee on the first CAD$10,000 of foreign spend each month.

Neo charges no ATM fee of its own today, but from January 1, 2027 a cash withdrawal with the Neo Money card costs $1.50, or $0 with a Start, Build or Grow membership. The same date brings a $4.99 NSF fee and $1 per Interac e-Transfer sent on the free plan. There is no credit line, so no interest rate or income requirement applies.

Annual fee$0
Monthly fee$0 on Essentials; Build $9.99, Grow $14.99 a month
LoadingFree EFT from a linked account, Interac e-Transfer or direct deposit; holds up to 5 business days
FX fee3% (fee schedule, September 1, 2026); rebated on Grow up to CAD$10,000 a month
ATMNo Neo fee today; $1.50 per withdrawal from January 1, 2027 without a membership
Interest on balance0.1% (Neo Chequing rate as of May 26, 2026)
Funds held byIn trust at one or more CDIC member institutions; Neo is not a CDIC member
Deposit protectionCDIC up to $100,000 per beneficiary, per member institution
Limits$10,000 a day in purchases; $500 a day at ATMs; $200,000 account balance
Credit checkNo credit line; Neo states no credit check for the student account
Points per dollar

Earning rewards

The card earns 1% cashback on gas and groceries, plus instant cashback from offers at thousands of Neo partner merchants. Neo does not state any cashback on other purchases.

The 1% stops once you reach a monthly spend limit, and Neo shows that limit only in its app, not on its website.

GroceriesUp to a monthly spend limit shown in the Neo app, then 0%1%
GasSame monthly spend limit, then 0%1%
Neo partner offersInstant cashback at Neo partners; rates vary by offerVaries
Cashback earn is subject to a monthly spend limit; after it is reached, further purchases earn nothing until the limit resets the next month. Students who use the Neo Money card through a student Chequing account also earn 10% at eligible campus merchants. The Chequing balance itself earns 0.1%, as of May 26, 2026.
Getting value out

Redeeming rewards

Cashback goes to your Neo Rewards Wallet, and Neo says partner cashback posts instantly. Neo's Chequing page does not list the ways to spend or move the Rewards Wallet balance, so check the Neo app for the current options.

Rewards WalletGas, grocery and partner cashback collects here; see the Neo app for redemption options.
Beyond the points

Perks & benefits

The main perk is 1% back on gas and groceries on a card with no fee. Beyond that, you get a virtual card the moment you sign up, Apple Wallet and Google Wallet support, real-time alerts and an instant card freeze in the app.

The better travel and cash features sit behind paid memberships. Build ($9.99 a month, or $0 with a Neo World Elite, United World Elite or Cathay World Elite Mastercard) refunds third-party fees on Canadian-dollar withdrawals at ATMs in Canada, up to $5 per withdrawal. Grow ($14.99 a month) adds the FX fee rebate on up to CAD$10,000 of foreign spend a month.

1% on gas and groceriesUp to a monthly spend limit shown in the Neo app.
Neo partner cashbackInstant cashback offers at thousands of Neo partners.
ATM fee refunds (Build, Grow)Third-party fees on Canadian-dollar withdrawals at ATMs in Canada, up to $5 each.
FX rebate (Grow only)Foreign transaction fees returned on the first CAD$10,000 of foreign spend each month.
Virtual card and walletsSpend online right away, or add the card to Apple Wallet or Google Wallet.
Coverage included

Insurance

The Neo Money card comes with no insurance. Neo's insurance certificates page says plainly that the Neo Mastercard and Neo Money card don't include insurance coverage, so book trips and larger purchases on a credit card that carries it.

Your money is protected a different way. Neo is not a CDIC member, but the funds in Neo Chequing are held in trust with one or more CDIC member institutions, and eligible funds are insured for up to $100,000 per beneficiary, per member institution, provided certain disclosure rules are met.

Travel and purchase insuranceNone; Neo says the card doesn't include insurance coverage.
Deposit insuranceFunds held in trust at CDIC member institutions; eligible funds insured up to $100,000 per beneficiary, per member institution.
Fraud toolsReal-time alerts and instant card freeze in the Neo app; Neo's homepage lists Mastercard Zero Liability.
Opinion

My take

J
JasonRated 3.8 / 10

I'd get the Neo Money card if you already bank with Neo and want free cashback on groceries and gas; if you travel or pull cash often, I'd skip it.

What I like is that it costs nothing on the free plan and the 1% lands on two categories almost everyone spends on. For a Neo World Elite cardholder, who gets the Build membership at $0, the Canadian ATM refunds come along for free too.

The catches add up, though. The 3% FX fee is hard to justify on a prepaid card: EQ Bank's card and Wealthsimple's prepaid card charge no FX fee, and KOHO's free plan charges 1.5%. Add the $1.50 withdrawal fee from 2027, an unpublished cap on the cashback and 0.1% interest, and I'd keep this as a grocery card and look elsewhere for travel.

The good
  • $0 card on the free Essentials membership
  • 1% cashback on gas and groceries, plus partner offers
  • Funds held in trust and CDIC-insured up to $100,000
The catch
  • 3% FX fee unless you pay for Grow
  • $1.50 per cash withdrawal from January 1, 2027 without a membership
  • Cashback cap not published; balance earns only 0.1%
— Jason
Questions

Frequently asked

Neither. Neo calls it a prepaid card that lets you do what a debit card does: spend the money in your Neo Chequing account online and in stores, and take out cash, without loading the card by hand. There is no credit line and no interest charged.
Yes. Neo's fee schedule for the Neo Chequing account (September 1, 2026) lists a 3% foreign exchange conversion fee on top of the Mastercard rate, and it is also charged on refunds. Neo's membership page footnote quotes 2.5% for Neo Money cards, so confirm in the app. Grow members get the fee rebated on the first CAD$10,000 of foreign spend each month, paid at month end.
For now, Neo charges no domestic or international ATM fee on the Neo Money card, though the ATM operator may. From January 1, 2027, each cash withdrawal costs $1.50, or $0 with a Start, Build or Grow membership. Build and Grow also refund third-party fees on Canadian-dollar withdrawals at ATMs in Canada, up to $5 each. You can take out up to $500 a day.
1% on gas and groceries, up to a monthly spend limit that Neo shows in its app; after that, those purchases earn nothing until the limit resets. You also earn instant cashback from offers at Neo partners. Neo does not state any cashback on other purchases.
Indirectly. Neo is not a CDIC member institution, but funds added to Neo Chequing are held in trust in the name of the primary account holder with one or more CDIC member institutions. Eligible funds are insured for up to $100,000 per beneficiary, per member institution, provided certain disclosure rules are met.
A Neo Chequing account, or an older Neo Everyday account; the card isn't available with Neo Savings or Neo High-Interest Savings alone. You request it in the Neo app or website, get a virtual card right away, and the physical card can take up to 15 business days. Neo's fee schedule says the account is open to youth from age 13 (14 in Quebec).
A little. The Neo Chequing account paid 0.1% as of May 26, 2026, calculated daily and paid monthly. Neo's higher rates are on the separate Neo Savings account, where the rate depends on your membership.
Neo Money™ Card
Neo Money™ Card
Annual fee$0
Apply now
Important disclosure

Jayflyer publishes information and entertainment, not financial advice. Card details (fees, rates, welcome offers, insurance terms and eligibility) change frequently and are illustrative here; always confirm the current terms on the issuer's official page before applying. Some links on Jayflyer are affiliate links: if you’re approved for a card after clicking through, we may earn a commission at no cost to you. This never changes which cards we recommend or what we say about them. Offers shown are current as of the date above and apply to Canadian residents only.

Mastercard and World Elite Mastercard are registered trademarks of Mastercard International Incorporated. ™ Trademarks of their respective owners, used under licence.